My Favorite Things

Everyone knows the song: “Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens. Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens…” And so on and so forth. The point is to sing about your favorite things until you feel better in your current situation.

I bring this up because a memory of one of my favorite things totally hit me out of the blue this afternoon. I remember that when I was a kid, I spent a lot of time at my parent’s softball games, and no matter what field we were at, I could always find old bottle lids smushed into the dirt all around the bleachers. To everyone else, they were garbage, litter that should have been thrown away. To me, it was treasure. 

A leftover remnant from who knows when. I don’t even think I knew they were lids at the time. Someone probably laughed at me at some time, the little pastor’s kid collecting lids from beer bottles at the church softball games. That’s probably why I always had to throw them away after the games were over.

But I think that because of all the fun I had in digging up the bottle tops, that led to me loving the hobby of metal detecting. I used to go with my Dad back when we visited family in Iowa. I haven’t done it again in a long time, but I’d totally pick up the hobby again if I had a chance.

Anyway, the reason I bring this up is that I need to think of some favorite things tonight. I almost had a relapse… That would have been devastating. I mean, I’ve been doing way better in my personal life in dealing with those hardships, but it just goes to show that I’m not safe yet. I’m not completely better.

I used scripture to help me, and I told myself “No.” So I guess that’s one of my favorite things. 

I like being in control of myself. I like metal detecting. I like my friends. I like singing. I like acting, especially improv. I like doing spoken word. I like making things with clay. I like reading. I like watching movies and tv shows. I like naps. I like the smell of vanilla. I like the sound of rain. I like floating the river. I like the St. John’s Bridge. I like cats (some of them). I like combing my beard. I like the idea of organizing, but not actually organizing. I like ladybugs. I like eggnog. I like the idea of writing songs, mostly lyrics, but I wouldn’t mind trying to help with the actual music of the composition. I like hugs. I like feeling wanted. I like memorizing scripture. I like feeling myself grow. I like to feel intelligent, and like I have something worthwhile to say. I like not having to pay for things. I like collecting shot glasses. I like writing this blog. I like my HydroFlask. I like disc golf, and I like yoga too. I like to eat, a little too much maybe.

I like that you’re reading this. Do you like it?

Leave a Reply

