(Kind of…?) A Devotional

Psalm 19:1-4a (NIV):

1The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands. 2Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they reveal knowledge. 3They have no speech, they use no words; No sound is heard from them. 4aYet their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.

Why is this obscure Psalm being transcribed on the inter-webs?

Because I (nearly) wrote it all from memory. Sure I had to look up the correct punctuations, which then showed me the errors I had foolishly made, but then soon corrected. Why did I choose to share it here though? Insert digression.

I went on a hike today, and it was absolutely beautiful. While much of it was uphill (and I desperately hate elevation), I couldn’t help myself from venturing off ahead of the group in order to be alone in my own head. God has created the perfect atmosphere to be alone, but still in so much public space. I passed hundreds of people this morning, but I felt so private and isolated in such a comfortable space. Looking around, I just saw how much that Nature spoke to me. Living entities without voices spoke to me. Nonliving entities still made sound that was music to my ears. The crunch of the gravel, the whooshing of wind through the leaves, and the trickle of a slow moving creek. But none of those compared to the roar of the falls!

However, I wish I would have taken more time to be alone with the sky. We see in this verse that “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands” (v. 1). One of the first things God created was the distinction between land and sky, and the sky is enormous! The color  is just so… pure! It stretches from the ocean in the west, to the eastern horizon and back. How exactly do they “pour forth speech” and “reveal knowledge” though? No idea. I haven’t spent enough time with them yet. I bet if I spoke Hebrew I could learn me a thing or two.

I assume it would have something to do with the understanding that only God could actually create such a wonderful thing, and that we learn this without speaking. I’m not entirely sure though. However, I have been inspired to spend much more time in the outdoors, and to not take even the urban outdoors for granted. Join me in reverence of the sky this week, won’t you?

Leave a Reply

